Everyday vocab – Eyesight & glasses

In 謎解きはディナーのあとで (which I’m currently reading), one of the main characters wears glasses, and I realised that although I wear glasses I don’t know that much related Japanese vocabulary. So here is a post dedicated to rectifying that!

Eyesight
近視 – きんし – short-sighted
私は近視です。 – I’m short-sighted.

遠視 – えんし – long-sighted
私は遠視です。 – I’m long-sighted.

乱視 – らんし – astigmatism
私は乱視です。 – I have astigmatism.

視力 – しりょく – eyesight
昨日は視力検査を受けた。 – I had an eyesight test yesterday.

視力検査表 – しりょくけんさひょう – eye chart
視力検査表はほとんど読めなかった。 – I couldn’t read most of the eye chart

ぼやける、かすむ – be blurry (both can refer to things being blurry or your own eyes are being blurry)
すべてがぼやけている。 – Everything is blurry.
目がかすんでいる。 – My vision is blurry.

Glasses

ファイル:眼鏡 名称図.jpg

蝶番 – ちょうつがい – hinge
智 – ち – according to here, this is where the lens rims connect to the arms
テンプル – this refers to the entire arm and the モダン can be considered part of this (says wikipedia)
I think the other katakana words are pretty self-explanatory. Now, how to talk about glasses!

(colour/material)縁眼鏡 – ふちめがね – framed/rimmed glasses
縁なし眼鏡 – ふちなしめがね – rimless glasses
伊達眼鏡 – だてめがね – fashion glasses

彼女の眼鏡が落ちてきた。 – Her glasses slipped down.
彼女は眼鏡を押し上げた。 – She pushed her glasses back up.
彼の眼鏡が滑り落ちた。 – His glasses fell off.

Leave a Reply

